Pyromania


The definition of pyromania is the compulsion to set things on fire. That’s it. Just a simple statement. My friends call me a pyromaniac because I get a kick out of lighting candles a thousand times and playing with matches. I’m pretty sure every teenager does that, though I can’t know for sure. I guess in truth I don’t necessarily like burning anything, I just like how the things look while they are burning. The colours contrast with each other so much, and I find it interesting that something as pure white as paper can be eaten away and turned black by a simple little flame. Of course it only turns black because of a chemical change that occurs when the flame met the paper. The change is irreversible and I guess I like it so much because fire is kind of a reminder of life. Whatever gets in the way of the fire, it gets altered and changed in different ways. How much it changes all depends on how big and hot the fire it is. In life, things we love get destroyed, just like how fire destroys things as well. In the end the fire can always be put out, just like how in life we can over come the troubles that we face everyday. A fire may seem scary, but it might change us for the better. Sometimes the scariest things in life are the things we need to move forward. Maybe that is why I like fire so much. I don’t know for sure. All I know is that I get a weird sense of happiness whenever I see something on fire. Of course I never want it to hurt anybody, but I love to watch the lights and the colours flick around. They’re just so beautiful and so unique. Kind of like a human life?

Leave a comment